• Register

Project Zomboid is an open-ended zombie-infested sandbox. It asks one simple question – how will you die? Whether surviving in Knox County free-roam or controlling Indie Stone mascot Baldspot in his quest to save his injured wife Kate – death is always a certainty. Quite how long you manage to put it off is another matter…

Review RSS Feed Broax says
10 Broax

Aug 28th, 2011 246 people agree 48 people don't

This is one of those examples of how great indie alpha funding can be... Project Zomboid is a real work of love fueled by a great community and great interaction between developers and fans. Even if it's just in the earliest stages the colossal potential it has for modding alone makes this a game full of potential.

As for the game itself it has great music, and awesome atmosphere... It's a great ride for all the nostalgic gamers that fondly remember isometric games. And the structure of this game allows for limitless replayabilty with random spawning NPCs, zombies and items!

Use your survival instincts to scavenge for food, make your own weapons, and try to survive for as long as you can. Because as in life, in PZ the only certain thing is death...

warlordpompey says
10 warlordpompey

Aug 29th, 2011 105 people agree 14 people don't

The quintessence of immersive gameplay. It's an open world, not because you're told that it's open, but simply because you can approach the game from any survival model you choose to adopt.

I have spentg countless hours in-game and meta-game, and this is still a pre-alpha!

Huge potential for growth and an excellent foundation to build upon. If you like enveloping zombie-themed gameplay, get Project Zomboid now.

malakili says
10 malakili

Aug 30th, 2011 49 people agree 4 people don't

This is an alpha, so be prepared for occasional bugs, but even in this relatively primitive state you can play this game for hours on end and it has insane replayability (even in the tech demo that is free to download and try, so give it a shot!).

If you like the idea of a survival horror/zombie game, I'd be shocked if you didn't get your 8 dollars out of this. When I think of all the games I purchased for 50 bucks only to put down after a day or two, its even more insane how much I've been able to play this game already even in alpha.

Banzai¥ says
8 Banzai¥

Sep 1st, 2011 51 people agree 11 people don't

Project Zomboid manages to be a great zombie game, which is surprising. Although zombie-styled games are very common nowadays staying along a relatively identical and safe comfort zone with one another, Project Zomboid manages to bring a bit of new excitement in the genre. It takes the style of a top-down view, with a mixture of well defined 2D sprites alongside the 3D map layout it becomes pleasant to those familiar with other games that have done the style. The custom art for every item, wall, character, etc can be noticed and looks really good.

The game has recently featured NPCs, or at least more humans in the game. Although the idea of releasing the game where every NPC will want to kill you seems like a terrible idea, it does show that they're getting ready to set-up more of a storyline as well as unexpected events for Sandbox. I'm still sad to see that Kate can't simply get up after a few days and tell you random stories or tips. Hopefully when they release better AI (Or real AI) they have Kate ready to accompany you by then.

Zomboid also manage to stay 'true' to the old Romero films where zombies are slow, unintelligent, and looking pretty dead. Although they take from Romero films, they also plan to keep a bit of unique additions of their own. Hopefully we see those ideas soon and that they work out well.

Customization is finally in, and I'm happy with what I see. Although limited to a few classes, it does have a nice balance as to what you can skill up in. Not only that, but being able to change clothing is a little feature that I love. I can't wait to see the extra clothing options, skills, and possible fort building they will add in. Even if they don't do something I hope to see, I can try and count on either myself or a mod for it.

That said, it's a great game but can still use improvements. I know it's in Alpha Stage but as of right now I don't see the game being perfect for me. With the weekly additions and mod support I hope to see greatness.

chris2933 says
10 chris2933

Aug 31st, 2011 48 people agree 13 people don't

ABSALUTLY AMAZING, A MUST BUY!

tryllo says
10 tryllo

Sep 1st, 2011 42 people agree 11 people don't

Awesome game, best survival zombie game :3

Frogsbane says
10 Frogsbane

Aug 28th, 2011 28 people agree 6 people don't

A fantastically deep game considering the fact at that this time it is still in alpha! I thoroughly recommend this to anyone who enjoys RPGs especially ones with a lot of realism, it seems that by the end of development this game is going to have a lot of features and will probably be as close as it comes to a zombie apocalypse simulator (except perhaps the visuals). On top of that it's only £5 (at least it is in alpha) and the support from the developers in terms of news and updates is great. You would be mad not to buy this game for such a low price.

Serneum says
10 Serneum

Aug 31st, 2011 32 people agree 9 people don't

I've been playing this game since pre-alpha and I have to say it is quite amazing. It's a true survival game with some interesting twists. Take too many sleeping pills? Now you sleep for 3 days straight. You can cook, forage, and kill zombies. It's hard to imagine a better version of a zombie apocalypse game.

Heliad says
9 Heliad

Aug 28th, 2011 30 people agree 8 people don't

Though still heavily in development, Project Zomboid is a wondeful breath of fresh air in the zombie genre. Contrary to more action-oriented games with a lot of guns and a lot of gore (ex. Left 4 Dead and Nazi Zombies), Zomboid is more like a fusion of Dead Rising and The Sims, takes a step towards survival sim where players avoid confrontations with the undead and are thrilled when they find a loaf of bread, let alone a weapon. If you've been waiting for a game that challenges your zombie survival plan (because everyone should have one), rather than how many chainsaws you can fit inside of a zombie's chest, Project Zomboid is going to thrill you.

QuixoticRocket says
7 QuixoticRocket

Nov 14th, 2011 34 people agree 15 people don't

This has lots of promise to be a real gem once all the functionality is completed and the content and polish is applied.

At the moment it's an enjoyable but rough game (to be expected as an alpha) that'll leave you wishing they were closer to finishing it.

This would be a 9 review except: lack of content drops the score a point and lack of polish drops the score another point.
I find it very difficult to rate a game 10 unless it has something really special but once this is finished the retail version could easily be a 10. Definitely worth keeping an eye on this.

Community Rating

Average

9.4

9643 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.