• Register
Forum Thread
Help with "How to begin modding for Red Alert 3?" (Forums : Tech Support : Help with "How to begin modding for Red Alert 3?") Locked
Thread Options
Aug 8 2020 Anchor

Hi guys) I thought for a long time and decided to write. Sorry for my english, used a translator. I'm an ardent fan of my first game, Red Alert 3. How many years has it been on my PC. I always knew about the existence of mods for this game and used to use them, but they were created by someone else and not quite in my taste) I did not even try to create it myself, because it’s not easy to go to the file (which still needs to be contrived go) and fix a couple of numbers. Years passed and I started learning programming, namely web programming HTML, CSS, Python (Django), well, not the point. I decided to play again and there was a desire to adjust a little to my views on the game. Downloaded RA3 MOD SDK V.3. I began to understand, the MOD SDK came with the documentation, read it in half with grief several times and began to make my first mod, namely in the SageXml \ Soviet \ Units folder which is located with the mod's root directory, I took the file "SovietAntiStructureVehicle.xml" (in game - Fau - 4) and forwarded a couple of values ​​(for the test) moved the corrected "xml" to the folder of my mod and created the "Mod.xml" file there where I wrote the path in "Includes" and everything, as it was said in the documentation, began the assembly and in parallel solved a couple of problems myself, and as a result, my mod folder contained ".big", ".skudef" files and a "data" directory with "Mod.xml" and "SovietAntiStructureVehicle.xml" files. And nothing in the game has changed( . I decided not to despair right away and look on "GitHub" for examples of open source mods, but everything was written there for already advanced guys and everything in pieces, more precisely, certain solutions for certain situations and poor understanding of the language prevents me from focusing on understan