A strategic visual novel telling the story of a crashed colony ship and its ragged group of survivors, trying to make a new life on the wrong planet.

Details

TNW is a visual novel/strategy hybrid in the vein of The Banner Saga, King of Dragon Pass and Oregon Trail, with an emphasis on planning and decision-making over combat. Keep as many colonists alive as possible by making the tough decisions which will determine how your adventure unfolds. Build colony structures, salvage wreckage, resolve problems with multiple branching outcomes, and manage your colony’s dwindling supplies; all while playing through an intense story of intrigue, sabotage, desperation and survival, by writer Ryan A. Span (FRONTIERS, Mount&Blade, Euclidean).

Features

Robust strategy system -- manage your colony on a hostile world and keep your people alive
Fully hand-drawn art in retro-industrial sci-fi style
Two different protagonists to choose from, each with their own quirks and methods
Colourful and memorable cast of NPCs
Dozens of events to help you or challenge you
Hundreds of decisions to make, each with its own consequences

  • View media
  • View media
  • View media
  • View media
  • View media
  • View media
Post article RSS Articles

1 cutscene1 panel3

Red dust flutters in the dry, desultory breeze. The wreckage of the starship Exodus lies scattered across miles of empty ground. The broken pieces of what was supposed to be your home. There's no air and no life but what you bring with you.

The deck is stacked against you. But when has that ever stopped you before?

This planet will challenge you. Now rise to meet it. Build a home. Rally your people. Survive, at any cost.

The Next World awaits.

GET IT NOW ON STEAM!

Update 6: Bump

Update 6: Bump

News

Another post regarding release, marketing, and all that jazz.

Update 5: Release Date Locked In

Update 5: Release Date Locked In

News

TNW will release on the 26th, less than two weeks away!

Update 4: One Last Demo

Update 4: One Last Demo

News

We've released our last pre-release demo; from here it's a straight shot to launch in February.

Update 3: No, seriously, we're on Steam (with trailer!)

Update 3: No, seriously, we're on Steam (with trailer!)

News 2 comments

Our Steam store page and official trailer are up! TNW is Coming Soon, so get us on your wishlist now. You know you want to.

Add file RSS Files
The Next World - Demo 3

The Next World - Demo 3

Demo

NOTE: This demo is now more than a month old and is no longer representative of the quality, stability or feature-richness of the final game. Our last...

The Next World - Demo 2

The Next World - Demo 2

Demo

Playable demo with many features, including new events, new options and lots of new art. Updated: 18:01 CST, 04 Dec 2015 Bugfixes for major and minor...

The Next World - Demo 1

The Next World - Demo 1

Demo

An early tech demo of TNW's story and strategy system. Supports Windows, Mac and Linux. 10/11/2015, 07:05CST: Many bugs fixed. If you were running an...

Comments
LordDarkNight
LordDarkNight

write the date of realese in steam, please!

Reply Good karma Bad karma+1 vote
ApornasPlanet
ApornasPlanet

Omg tracking!

Reply Good karma Bad karma+1 vote
Post a comment
Sign in or join with:

Only registered members can share their thoughts. So come on! Join the community today (totally free - or sign in with your social account on the right) and join in the conversation.

Follow Report Profile
Icon
The Next World
Platforms
Windows, Mac, Linux
Developer
Illuminated Games
Publisher
AAD Productions
Engine
Ren'py
Contact
Send Message
Release date
Game watch
Follow
Share
Purchase
Community Rating

Average

-

0 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.

Style
Genre
Visual Novel
Theme
Sci-Fi
Players
Single Player
Project
Indie
Boxart
Boxart
Embed Buttons
Link to The Next World by selecting a button and using the embed code provided more...
The Next World
Statistics
Last Update
Watchers
18 members
Files
3
Articles
8
You may also like
Esara
Esara Visual Novel
The Seed
The Seed Visual Novel
Scaffold 22
Scaffold 22 Visual Novel
RECKONING
RECKONING Visual Novel
</reality>
</reality> Visual Novel
Planet Stronghold
Planet Stronghold Visual Novel