• Register

Faster Than Light is a spaceship simulation roguelike-like. Its aim is to recreate the atmosphere of running a spaceship exploring the galaxy (like Firefly/Star Trek/BSG etc).

Review RSS Feed Vader91 says
10 Vader91

Jul 17th, 2013 2 people agree 0 people don't

One of my new favorite games.

Check my profile page for a more detailed review if you're interested.

!!Nova!! says
10 !!Nova!!

Apr 7th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

10/10

Zorota says
10 Zorota

Dec 2nd, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

An perfect rogue like game.

s12345 says
10 s12345

Nov 13th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Superb game!

tainakasachi says
9 tainakasachi

Oct 28th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

This game veered off from the traditional game play of space simulations. I really love the way how you can control your crew/shift energy to weapons or shields.

Jez_Huntsman says
10 Jez_Huntsman

Oct 13th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Outstanding game :D

Romanul says
7 Romanul

Jul 20th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

It's simply an average game. I got bored after 30 minutes. Might be a good game for mobile phones but not for PC.

olafmyth says
8 olafmyth

May 26th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Its something new. Its interestingly intriguing. Really fun and addictive in the beginning but as you start to lose and things seem more and more hopeless your love for the game slowly dies. I've gotten to the last part in the game but never succesfully won. It's a good game clap clap for the developer

TheUnbeholden says
7 TheUnbeholden

Feb 1st, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

The thing about randomness in core gameplay mechanics is that you are essentially gambling, while there is always a luck factor in other games, here its everything. The events that you run into are random at each planet, the problem is so is the result. Theres no thinking things through because theres no way to predict what will happen.
You can have the finest tactical mind on Earth who knows to fire a beam weapon across six different rooms in the split second after the last shield goes down, but lady luck provides the opportunity to get a beam, then you're stuck flicking ion pulses at 4-shielded ships.

I've always had a problem with any game mechanic the player is powerless to influence. So you can't pretend to play as Captain Pickard who has to find ways to get around situations by diplomacy or other smart alternative ways.
Even just the addition of a "luck" stat that can be influenced with upgrades or pickups would at least give a slight edge on which an informed decision can be made. So would hints as to what someone is planning when you speak to them. The addition of more diplomacy options or even a graphic representation of the person your talking to would do wonders for the "thinkers" out there.

I had a similar problem with XCOM along these lines, but in that case I was being asked to make a much bigger investment. Playing through the campaign and gradually building up your capability is a far longer operation and while randomly UFOs appearing or not appearing does dictate what you do, but not your progress! You are always building, upgrading or researching new equipment... while a game of FTL might last about an hour because of balance issues, the progress will be way to fast or way to slow that gets you killed.

Randomness I can tolerate better in the shorter Roguelike style of game, but in longer games it can't be the 100% determining factor.

[TWDEV]_General_Naga says
10 [TWDEV]_General_Naga

Dec 27th, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

Clever, engaging and strangely addictive. Anyone who says that the days of 2D PC games are over needs to play this game.

Community Rating

Average

9.5

47 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.